Saturday, 13<sup>th</sup> July, 2024



## **ELECTION 2024 - 2026**

# Subject: 10<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting & Election of Members of Executive Committee and Office Bearers for the Period Oct- 2024 to Sep – 2026 (02) Years

Respected Members,

Pursuant to the Amendment in Trade Organizations Act 2013, issuance of S.R.O 1057(1)/2023 dated 08-08-2023 and Trade Organizations Rules 2013 amended thereof to hold election on biennial basis, forthwith, on all Executive Committee Seats and tenure of the newly elected Office Bearers and Executive Committee shall be from 1<sup>st</sup> October 2024 to 30<sup>th</sup> September 2026, the PAJCCI Meeting via zoom discussed DGTO letter File No. 17(31)/2008 – TO, dated 27<sup>th</sup> June, 2024 and unanimously adopted the Orders of the Regulator (TO), Directorate General of Trade Organizations and resolved to hold elections for term 2024-2026 on all seats of Executive Committee, passed the Election Schedule and Constituted the Election Commission, as per law, rules and Memorandum and Articles of Association of PAJCCI.

Furthermore, in refrence to the letter No. 17(31)/2008 – TO, dated 27<sup>th</sup> June, 2024, issued by the DGTO regarding the clarification of the forthcoming election Trade Organization licensed by Ministry of Commerce that the incumbent office bearers and members of the Executive Committee 2021-2022 and 2022-2023(one time exemption) will not be eligible to contest upcoming election.

## **Election Commission**

The Election Commission for holding elections of PAJCCI shall comprise the following persons:

Returning Officer- Mr. Qazi Zahid Hussain Scrutinizer – Mr. Obaidullah Durvesh Polling Officer – Ms. Sakina Hashim

## **Eligibility to Vote**

As per Memorandum & Articles of Association of PAJCCI and subject to the provisions of Rule 15 of the Trade Organization Rules, 2013, the eligibility of a member of PAJCCI to vote at the election shall be subject to the following conditions:

a) The member has completed two years of valid membership of PAJCCI as on the date of the announcement of the election schedule.

b) The member has fulfilled the conditions of membership and renewal thereof under Rule 11 (5) of the Trade Organizations Rules-2013.

Every member eligible to vote shall deposit with the Secretary General, the specimen card along with photograph indicating the status in the firm, company or concern. The right to vote shall be allowed only to the Proprietor, Partner or Director of the member firm or company, or a person not below the rank of

General Manager authorized by the Board of Directors of a public limited company or multi- national corporation, as the case may be.

The Proprietor, Partner or Director of the member firm or company, concern or a person not below the rank of General Manager authorized by the Board of Directors of public limited company or a multi-national company shall be entitled to cast votes at the time of election only if the name of such person has been registered with the Secretary General and his name appears on the list of voters.

#### Seats of Managing Committee

Elections shall be held to fill the following 11 seats in the same ratio i.e. 5: from Karachi, 3: from Peshawar, and 3: from Chaman.

S.No	Names	Location
1.	Mr. Muhammad Zubair Motiwala	Karachi
2.	Mr. Qazi Zahid Hussain	Karachi
3.	Mr. Shahid Ismail	Karachi
4.	Mr. Muhammad Junaid Nawab	Karachi
5.	Mr. Shahid Hussain	Peshawar
6.	Mr. Khalid Shahzad	Peshawar
7.	Mr. Niaz Muhammad	Chaman
8.	Mr. Haji Abdul Ghani	Chaman
9.	Mr. Haji Abdul Bari	Chaman
10.	Mr. Zia ul Haq Sarhadi –Retired on 30 <sup>th</sup> September 2023	Peshawar
11.	Mr. Junaid Makda - Resigned in December 2023 Effective from 14 <sup>th</sup> September 2023	Karachi

#### Names of Retiring/Resignation Managing Committee Members

#### Nominations

- 1. Every member having no outstanding dues in the Chamber is entitled for Nominations to contest the election.
- 2. Nomination paper should be enclosed in a plain and sealed envelope.
- 3. Nomination papers are available with the office of the Chamber and can be obtained during office hours on the dates mentioned in the schedule.

Within the period mentioned in the Election Schedule of the issuance of the final voters any person who is eligible to contest the election for the vacant post, shall send his nomination duly proposed, seconded and signed by the candidate to the Secretary on the prescribed form in accordance with the Articles of Chamber.

#### Fees

Election fees of Rs. 2,500/- shall be paid along with the nomination form in either manner:

- (a) Pay order of Rs. 2,500/- on the name of Pak Afghan Joint Chamber Cl
- (b) Direct Deposit in the following bank and submit deposit slip

A/C Title: Pak Afghan Joint Chamber CI A/C No: 50007900122155 Bank: Habib Bank Limited Branch: Finlay House Branch, I.I. Chundrigar Road, Karachi (Note: PAJCCI has freedom account, you don't need to pay any extra amount while depositing the amount)

#### Schedule of Election 2024-2026 is enclosed herewith.